Reviews



Review by jatinder singh

September 30, 2010

great tastes of india

Review by Jason

November 02, 2010

Best Indian food in new york city, hand down.

Review by Mike Veras

January 03, 2011

Truly some of the best Indian food in NYC. The weekend lunch buffet is a can't miss. Always courteous and friendly service. A true treasure in the heart of Staten Island.

Review by Eddie

March 27, 2011

I grew up on Italian cooking. Never ate Indian food until my wife had me try it at Taste of India II. I love it now and want it all the time. I've eaten Indian food at other restaurants but none are as good as Taste of India II. They have the best food, the ambiance is authentic and the owners and waitstaff are very, very friendly and welcoming.

Review by Elizabeth

April 28, 2011

I've tried many Indian restaurants before,Taste of India II has the best taste of all.

Review by Joseph226

July 21, 2011

I live in manhattan but I always come here for great indian food. I have yet to be disappointed with their food or service.

Review by Sourabh

August 31, 2011

This restaurant is really a great taste of India.

Review by Lia

October 02, 2011

I'm vegetarian & my husband is not. It's the perfect place for both of us to eat. Every dish is delicious & I love the fact that I have plenty of veg. dishes to choose from!!

Review by Andy

December 12, 2011

DELICIOUS TASTE....... GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE GOOD CHOICES...... WILL COME AGAIN. :))

Review by phil

March 04, 2012

I've been eating at Taste of India for 25 years.It doesn't get better than this.

Review by Staten Island Advance

April 26, 2012

When New Dorp's Taste of India II opened in 1990, the curries and unique cuisine (for the borough) certainly stood out. And, no matter how busy was the single room which, at the time, comfortably held about 50 guests among smartly arranged booths, the restaurant maintained a placid feel about it. Taste of India recently expanded into the next storefront with a glass-curtain facade, taking over the former Lento's, and, in effect, doubling its seating. At the time of our visits only two dining rooms were ready to receive guests — a stretch of bar with lounge-like seating for a la carte service and a separate space with a few booths at the back of the restaurant, an area designated for families looking for a more private setting. An overhaul of the "old" space is in the works. That front area is striking — architectural, very comfortable and decidedly clubby — with squeaky-clean shiny surfaces and a black wall punctuated with illuminated blue squares. That field of light is intense, almost glaring depending on where you sit. Yet the blue hue cast over the room doesn’t necessarily do the beautiful looking food justice Yes, that food — Taste of India's kitchen is just as outstanding as it was in its inaugural days on the dining scene. Meals still begin with complimentary pappadam (additional orders are $2 each), round and bumpy legume crackers fueled by cumin and a touch of salt. The crispy snack can be used like a potato chip with three accouterments: cilantro-mint sauce, coarsely chopped onion chutney mixed with chilies and a vivid red colored tomatoey paste plus a sweet-on-tang tamarind preparation. Those precursors ready the appetite for the meal. By the way, heat in dishes stems from what is requested of the kitchen. And, servers are more than likely to coach patrons on what are their expectations for spice levels Regulars of the restaurant may start with Vegetable, Meat or Taste of India platters, combinations of some of the kitchen’s most popular appetizers, generally fried. The Veggie version includes flaky, potato-filled samosas, onion fritters (great with that onion-chili chutney) and palak tikki with spinach and coriander (ideal with that cilantro-mint sauce.) One app special featured Eggplant Pakora, or eggplant “fritters” coated and gently fried in chick pea-flour tempura. Mouthwatering Special Nan bread is baked with almond bits and raisins, Shahi Nan with coconut and sunflower seeds and Garlic Nan brushed with ghee and chopped fresh garlic. Gobhi Parantha, a special whole-wheat bread disc offered one evening, was “stuffed” with a light layer of cauliflower and onions — all delicious, fresh and piping hot from the tandoor. The house's basic Biryani (rice) is the powerhouse for vegetables, chicken, shrimp, goat or combinations thereof. Occasional grains are flecked yellow with saffron and woven with flavors from the likes of bay leaf, cinnamon sticks, cardamom pods and clove. In general, curry combos (try the Gosht Eggplant with lamb or goat) are well balanced, seasoned with fresh curry leaves. Chicken Mahkni is rich and buttery, with poultry chunks smothered in a tomato-based medium sweetened by raisins and enhanced with a cashew crunch. Palak Paneer — a pureed, garlicky spinach dish offset by creamy bits of paneer — was tasty but a bit shy on the cheese cubes. Taste of India Chicken (a special) featured tender, moist pieces of white meat cooked in a yellow curry — an excellent dish as was a basic Tandoor Chicken paired with copious semi-caramelized onion slivers. Finish the meal with Kheer (rice pudding made with basmati,) Carrot Halwa (carrot basmati pudding), Gulab Jamun (sticky and refreshing, rose syrup-covered cheese balls) or assorted ice creams. Of course, there is no better way to douse a fire on the palate than with a yogurt-based, frappe-like lassi, ideally one whipped with honey and rose water. Add consistent food to seamless service plus sincere hospitality and now you're talking about a great place. Despite the transition from a small, 22-year old spot into an expanded, modernized space, Taste of India hasn't lost its charm or serenity

Review by john

December 10, 2012

WOW, I have not had an amazing lunch like this in such a long time, that now Taste of India 2 is at the TOP OF MY LIST. It is a must taste and visit. 4 star all around - service, decor, atmosphere and most of FOOD!!! My new favorite place in Staten Island.

Review by john

December 10, 2012

Being from Staten Island, you always think what do I want to eat? You go through the motions, Italian, Chinese, eclectic...But today I chose Indian!!! WOW, I have not had an amazing lunch like this in such a long time, that now Taste of India 2 is at the TOP OF MY LIST. It is a must taste and visit. 4 star all around - service, decor, atmosphere and most of FOOD!!! My new favorite place in Staten Island.

Review by Kristi F.

March 26, 2013

I have been going here with my family since I am a child and I'm 27 now! It is the most pleasant Indian restaurant I have ever been in, with the most delicious food. Going tonight for my birthday! I recommend Taste of India to everyone!

Review by Michele

June 18, 2013

The food here is amazing, and the kitchen is very willing to adjust the spiciness for those who may not be accustomed to Indian cooking. I highly recommend the tandoor lamb chops (very flavorful, tender and reasonably priced). The fragrant, spiced iced tea is the best I've ever tasted - no need for sweetening, so you can save the calories for the delicious food! Very pretty decor, with enchanting background music that suits the atmosphere.

Review by James J Pettinato

January 07, 2014

Great place Great food great service

Review by Geri

February 14, 2014

Taste of India is one of my favorite restaurants. My husband and I are going tonight for Valentine's Day, and I can't wait. The place is absolutely gorgeous and they serve the best Indian food anywhere! The owner and waiters are always personable, polite and know how to serve food. I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Review by Brian

February 15, 2014

Love this restaurant. It has been in business many years and the reason is the food and value are first class. The atmosphere is polished and refined and the service is subdued and highly professional. But go for the food, which, hands down, is among the best Indian food you'll ever taste.